Australia tour of India, 4th Test.

Australia tour of India, 4th Test: India v Australia at Dharamsala, March 25-29, 2017.

The match is scheduled to begin on March 25, 2017 (09:30 local | 04:00 GMT | 09:00 PKT)


India: V Kohli*, R Ashwin, SS Iyer, RA Jadeja, B Kumar, A Mukund, KK Nair, CA Pujara, AM Rahane, KL Rahul, WP Saha, I Sharma, M Vijay, J Yadav, UT Yadav

Australia: SPD Smith*, DA Warner, AC Agar, JM Bird, PJ Cummins, PSP Handscomb, JR Hazlewood, UT Khawaja, NM Lyon, SE Marsh, GJ Maxwell, SNJ O’Keefe, MT Renshaw, MP Stoinis, MJ Swepson, MS Wade

Australian captain Steve Smith has been in good form with his bat while Indian counterpart Virat Kohli has had a poor run in the series.

The fourth Test between India and Australia begins from Saturday. With the series level at 1-1 the Border-Gavaskar is up for grabs and pressure will be on both the teams.

While the hosts will like to sign off the home season with a victory the visitors will look to cause a major upset. For team India a major cause of concern will be Virat Kohli’s fitness. However, Cheteshwar Pujara’s fine form is a bonus and added to that is Ravindra Jadeja’s brilliant display with the ball. If they can replicate their feat then India will surely have an upper hand. Though as per initial reports the pitch is expected to assist the pacer more than the spinners. Hence, it will also be interesting as to how the home team line’s up going into the decider.

Australia need at least a draw in the fourth Test against India to maintain their second rank, while South Africa can finish second only if Australia lose in Dharamsala and the Proteas either win or draw the last Test against New Zealand in Hamilton which also gets underway from Saturday.

If South Africa manage to pip Australia in the Test rankings, it will be a double blow for Steve Smith as South Africa had snapped their No. 1 ODI ranking earlier this month with a 3-2 series win in New Zealand.


Australia, who chose to bat.

Day 1:

Steve Smith scored his 20th Test century as Australia were bowled out for 300. Matthew Wade and David Warner scored fifties

Smith motored to his third century of the series, one of only six visiting batsmen to score that many in India, he was left without significant top order support, and of the rest only Matthew Wade was able to endure for any protracted period. A good indicator of the different nature of play at Dharamsala was that the innings went by without a single recourse to the DRS, in sharp contrast to earlier matches. The new ball in Australian hands looms large as a key to the match.

Kuldeep Yadav picked up four wickets on his debut.

Kuldeep Yadav’s left-arm wristspin gave this series yet another unexpected twist, trumping the far more consistent theme of the Australian captain Steven Smith’s batting excellence, as India enjoyed the better of the first day of the decisive fourth Test at Dharamsala.

Having reached lunch at 131 for 1, Australia gave up their last nine wickets for a mere 169, all on a surface that showed itself to be by a distance the most evenly paced of the series. That they did so was down largely to Kuldeep, who was given a key role immediately upon the afternoon’s resumption by the stand in captain Ajinkya Rahane and responded with a delectable spell that turned the direction of the day.

An irony of Kuldeep’s display was that he had come into the side in place of Virat Kohli, who was reduced to drinks duties after concluding that his strained right shoulder was not going to be 100% fit for this match, the last of the Test season. Turning the ball sharply both ways while maintaining an immaculate length and line, Kuldeep recalled the problems created for Australia by another left-arm wristspinner in Sri Lanka last year – Lakshan Sandakan.

The Dharamsala pitch offered pace and bounce for both fast men and spinners to exploit, and it was the fresher fingers of Kuldeep that were best able to take full advantage rather than either Ravindra Jadeja or R Ashwin. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who replaced Ishant Sharma, and Umesh Yadav had both found new-ball movement before Smith took control of proceedings with some help from David Warner.

Day 2:

Cheteshwar Pujara scored a gritty fifty against Australia in the second day of the fourth India vs Australia Test

Cheteshwar Pujara and KL Rahul scored brilliant half centuries to boost India on Day 2 of the fourth Test match against Australia in Dharamsala. Murali Vijay was dismissed early by Josh Hazlewood, but Pujara and Rahane stitched together a 87-run partnership to steady the innings. Skipper Ajinkya Rahane also enjoyed a good run of form as he made a gritty 46. India currently trail by 52 runs.

Lyon was on top of his bowling and picked 4 wickets in the final session on day 2.

Another topsy-turvy of Test cricket in Dharamsala. India began their innings 300 runs behind Australia. India were 152 for the loss of two wickets at Tea on Sunday. The third session clearly belonged to Australia as they picked four wickets in that. Nathan Lyon was on top of his bowling and picked all four in the third session. Pujara, Nair, Rahane and Ashwin were the four wickets to fall in the final session on day two.

Day 3:

Indian bowlers dismissed Australia for 137 on day 3. India needs 87 runs more to clinch match & series. The dismissal of Smith(17) was the turning point for India.

India are 19 for no loss at close of play on day 3 of the fourth and final Test at Dharamsala. KL Rahul is batting on 13 and Murali Vijay is not out on 6. The hosts have a target of 106. Australia collapsed to 137 all out in the second innings after Umesh Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja took three wickets each. Ravindra Jadeja (63) and Wriddhiman Saha (31) produced a 96-run stand as India were all out for 332, with a lead of 32 runs. Nathan Lyon took 5 for 92 and Pat Cummins grabbed three for 94 to become Australia’s prime wicket takers.

Day 4:

Indian cricket team players with the Border Gavaskar Trophy after defeating Australia by eight wickets, take series 2-1

What a great comeback it has been for India. After losing the first Test match comprehensively, the hosts came back strongly in the second Test. The third Test ended in a draw as both teams went into the last Test match with the series hanging in balance. But it was India who came out on top in Dharamsala. After bowling out Australia for 300, India took the lead and bowled out the visitors for 137 in the second innings. WIth a target of 106 to chase. India got off to a steady start. Murali Vijay and KL Rahul added 46 for the first wicket before Vijay nicked one off to the keeper. Pujara didn’t trouble the scorers much as he was dismissed for a duck but Ajinkya Rahane along with Rahul took the hosts home without any more damage.

India completed a remarkable victory over Australia in the fourth Test by chasing down the 106-run target inside the first session. KL Rahul scored an unbeaten half-century and led India to win with Ajinkya Rahane who made an aggressive 37 runs. Resuming the chase at 19 for no loss, India lost Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara but that were the only two wickets that fell. India won the series 2-1 and reclaimed the Border Gavaskar Trophy from Australia.


India won by 8 wickets.
Series: India won the 4-match series 2-1

Player of the match: RA Jadeja (India)

Player of the series: RA Jadeja (India)

Score Card:

Leave a Reply