Kamran Akmal Returns to Pakistan ODI and T20I Squads

Kamran Akmal has been recalled to the national team after three years.

Pakistan Cricket Team Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq has announced T20I and ODI squads for the West Indies tour starting later this month.

While announcing the names, the chief selector said unfit players have been ruled out of the team and young players are being given a chance. Umar Akmal is not in team because he could not pass fitness test, while Muhammad Amir has been rested for the tour. Ahmad Shahzad and Kamran Akmal have made a comeback in the team, while Azhar Ali cannot be part of team due to bad performance.

Youngsters Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Usman Shinwari and Rumman Raees have also been selected for the tour after impressive showings in the recently concluded Pakistan Super League. Sarfaraz Ahmad is the captain for both formats.

Kamran Akmal last featured for Pakistan during the 2014 World T20 and has not been in contention for the national side since his central contract was cut the same year. He was, however, prolific on the domestic circuit in the 2014-15 season, scoring 900 first-class runs at 52.94 and 576 List A runs at 52.36. In the subsequent year, he made 480 first-class runs at 60 and 576 List A runs at 72. He was the top-scorer with 1035 runs at 79.61 in the recent first-class season and was the leading run-scorer in the second edition of Pakistan Super League with a tally of 353.

Pakistan will play four T20Is, three ODIs and three Tests in a tour spanning nearly two months between March and May.

ODI squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Asif Zakir, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Fahim Ashraf, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Asghar, Sarfraz Ahmed

T20I squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Sarfraz Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Rumman Raees, Usman Khan Shinwari

Leave a Reply