Watch India vs Australia 5th ODI 2017 Live Streaming, Highlights & Result.

5th ODI 2017: India vs Australia

The match is scheduled on Oct 01, 2017. ( 13:30 Local, 8:00 GMT, 13:00 PKT ).


India: AM Rahane, RG Sharma, V Kohli, MK Pandey, KM Jhadav, MS Dhoni, HH Pandya, B Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, YS Chahal, JJ Bumrah, Shikkar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Lokesh Rahul, Umesh Yadav, Axar Patel.

Australia: DA Warner, HWR Cartwright, SPD Smith, TM Head, GJ Maxwell, MP Stoinis, MS Wade, JP Faulkner, PJ Cummins, NM Coulter Nile, A Zampa, Josh Hazzlewood, Kane Richardson, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Ashton Agar.


There were no reports of any injuries in the Indian team at the time of writing. Despite India’s defeat in the last game, the selectors could give another shot to Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami in place of Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah.

India’s opening pair of Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane will be the key at the top. The former has now hit back-to-back fifties while the latter has three in a row. Hardik Pandya has been the x factor for India. The allrounder has responded well with the bat after being promoted at no. 4 and he has made good contributions with the ball as well. Yuzvendra Chahal has been very effective in keeping Australia’s scoring rate down. The legspinner has also picked up some big wickets in this series and he will be the team’s best spin option at Nagpur.

India’s 21 run loss in the last game dashed their hopes of bettering their previous best record of nine consecutive ODI wins. Though their bowlers bounced back nicely towards the end to keep Australia from posting a monstrous total, the target of 335 still proved to be a little too much for the hosts as they kept on losing wickets at regular intervals.

The team has no injury related issues to deal with at the moment and the selectors could persist with the same lineup that was successful in braking Australia’s overseas jinx at Bengaluru.

Aaron Finch is looking in sublime form with two big knocks in as many games he has played in this series. David Warner too got a big one in the last game and these two will hold the key for Australia on what is likely to be a flat batting track at Nagpur. Steven Smith and Marcus Stoinis have also been amongst the runs. Australia’s bowling will once again rely on their two quicks Nathan Coulter-Nile and Pat Cummins who have been terrific in all the four matches. The Indian batsmen have struggled against these two bowlers and it could be the same story in the fifth ODI as well.

Australia finally had their first win of the series at Bengaluru, courtesy of a disciplined bowling performance by their seamers. Not only did the Aussies put an end to their overseas hoodoo, they also managed to halt the Indian juggernaut which was rolling along quite smoothly.


Australia won the toss and elected to bat first.


India won by 7 wickets (with 43 balls remaining).

Player of the match: Rohit Sharma( India ).

Player of the Series: Hardik Pandya ( India ).

Series: India won the 5-match series 4-1.

Score Card:

Leave a Reply